About us

Biju Patnaik International Airport, also known as Bhubaneswar Airport, is situated in the city of Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India. It is currently the only major airport in Odisha. It is named after the former Chief Minister of Odisha, Biju Patnaik, who was also a famed aviator and freedom fighter. The Biju Patnaik Airport is developed and maintained by Lanco Infratech (Octamec) and Monnet Group. As of 2012, Bhubaneswar was ranked 19th busiest airport in India by the Airports Authority of India registering a 19.9% traffic growth over the previous year. On 5 March 2013, the new state-of-art domestic terminal (T1) was inaugurated by Minister of Civil Aviation, Ajit Singh. The new terminal (T1) handles all domestic carriers while the old terminal (T2) is being renovated to start international operations.It is also the second commercial airport in the East India having the international status after the Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport in the city of Kolkata.

Ground transportation

Biju Patnaik Airport is situated around 3 kilometres (1.9 mi) south of the city center. It is connected by Bhubaneswar City Bus (Route 207 Nandankanan - Airport) and other luxury coach buses to the city. The Bhubaneswar railway station is 2 - 3 km far from the airport. The airport has a facility of prepaid taxis. A new road connecting airport to the Ekamra Marg has been constructed as a part of the modernisation program, reducing journey time.


Airports Authority of India awarded Biju Patnaik Airport in Bhubaneswar as AAI's Best Airport in India jointly with Trivandrum International Airport in Thiruvananthapuram for the period of January-July 2012. Biju Patnaik Airport was adjudged The Best Airport in India based on Customer Satisfaction Index (CSI) for 2012-13. The Airport achieved the highest CSI for 2 years for providing user friendly services to passengers and other stakeholders. It shared the first prize with Jodhpur Airport. Biju Patnaik Airport was ranked Best Airport of India for January-June 2013 by Airports Authority of India based on the Customer Satisfaction Index. Biju Patnaik Airport in Bhubaneswar shared the award with Lal Bahadur Shastri Airport in Varanasi.